Thread: Furled mono leaders and ......

Default Furled mono leaders and ......

I have been using "Leo's furled leader" for 3 years now, and can say that they are fantastic. Last year I used them in Florida for big tarpon, over 80#, and some well over 100#, and between 3 of us we did not have one failure.

I have used it exclusively for baby tarpon, for 3 years now, with no failures. With a little practice, they are fun and easy to make!

It is my standard striper leader, for subsurface flies. I keep them short-maybe 4-5 ft. long, with loop-to-loop for the bite. It is great that you can make them any length.

However, I did not like the 20# leader though, due to the high testing of the loop knot (fuse). I use 15# mono, which drops the breaking strength of the loop (fuse). This also works better for top water bugs too, since the lighter mono does not sink as fast as the 20# material. I see no reason to use heavier mono for ANY fish.

The other "revolutionary" thing I discovered was how to straighten heavy leader, for perfectly straight bite leaders (very important for tarpon and other species)! Any coiled mono can now be straightened easily. I cut them 24" to 30" long and store them in a 1/2" pvc tube. Drop me a note, if any of you are interested.

I just returned from a trip to Alaska, for pike and sheefish, and the furled leader was just the ticket! By using a loop in the Tyger wire I could go loop-to-loop for pike, and then switch to a regular mono bite leader for sheefish. Very convenient and between 3 of us, we had not one failure. Very impressive system and just about as simple as a leader system could be!

For a longer mono leader, for spey work (Rick?), I would opt for a true furled mono leader, made with the standard "peg technique", for a more continuous taper. John Quigley is now making them, and I see them advertised elsewhere too. Of course they are more expensive, and can't be "hand tied".