Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hawaii Baitfish: SOS mems

Default Hawaii Baitfish: SOS mems

Hey Mems or anyone with knowledge/photos,
    Anyone have some pictures & size scale of typical hawaiian baitfish that school up? Heading for a couple weeks in Kauai and i'm staring at mounds of material trying to pare it down to what is really necessary. Granted, I have a bunch of patterns already, but want to match the hatch so to speak.
    Any info would be stylin.
    -Paul

Default Hawaiian Baitfish

Paul,

The first thing that came to my mind was opelo. I think they're also called mackeral scad.

I've been fishing the Kona area for almost thirty years and there always seems to be large schools of opelo moving in and out of the bay and harbor with the tide.
    Last year at the mouth of Honokahou Harbor about 5:00am I was able to take two large omilu (jack) on poppers as the opelo came through. I can't really call them ulua though one big one did take me in to the rocks that I never got a look at.

Take a big rod even for the shore if you want some fun at dark. I was using an 11w with a floating head and straight 20# leader with a 60# bite.

No, that's not overkill at night. Lots of big things come in close then.

Aloha, TONY

Hey Tony,
    How big is that baitfish. Like a mackerel 6" length bugs has you covered or something shorter?
    I hear what you're saying at the night action. I got schooled on the 8wt on a few mystery fish the last time I was out there. My wife looked happy everytime I walked in the door. I think she was expecting me to get sucked out to sea fishing off of lava rock solo at 11pm.
    I know there are GTs cruising along with god knows what else. Hope to get into em this time around.
    Should be fun regardless. May the trade winds go elsewhere that week. lol. I'll definitely bring the 10, 8 and a 6 for the peacock bass.
    -Paul