Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Divers

Default Divers

I've never tied up big top-water bass bugs, but according to several members of the board I'm going to need some divers for the July trip to the delta

Here's my first attempt. Let me know what you think...

I cut the bottom of the fly's very flat (you can't tell from this angle) and left the back part of the deer hair-head long. I've tried putting several different materials into the tail- including rabbit strips, antron, marabou, bucktail, and a few different colors of flash material.

I read a couple of different sites that suggested gluing the head/ bottom of the fly- so far I've just cemented the thread head. Should I be doing this Will gluing over the deer hair sink the fly

Any suggestions- Colors, materials, shape, etc...

Hi Chris
    Those look great and I hesitate to offer advice 'cos I'm no expert but here are a few comments that you might find useful:
    Always use a packing tool to get the hair on as tight as you can.
    Make sure the full gape is available for better hook sets.
    Old fashioned double edge razor blades are great for final shaping.
    Experiment as much as you like with tail materials but always be aware of proportion. The main attraction of the fly comes from its action and it needs to sit down and back in the water so that when you strip you create a pronounced "dip and bloop" in the water. I've tied some very pretty looking flies at the bench that swam like one legged dead ducks! So be prepared for plenty of field (lake) testing.
    Dave Whitlock recommends soaking the fly with watered down flexament for added longevity. He also ties parallel lengths of mono along the hook shank to give a broader base that prevents the hair body twisting on the finished fly. Personally I follow KD's advice and put a cemented half hitch or two after each spin/stack.