Thread: Drift Boat(s)

Default Drift Boat(s)

Anyone have, or had one that can provide some pro's/con's; do's/don'ts or recommendations, things to consider, etc.?

Just toying with the idea of picking up a used one, but would like to hear your experiences before I just jump in.

Thanks guys
    Steelhead gear = $6287, no of adults caught = 3, amortized cost = $2,095.67, beaching that 30" fish and letting it go = priceless

They are a great style of boats.

Unless you anchor quite a bit, someone has to be at the oars the whole time because they are so maneuverable the oarsmen must keep the boat srtaight or else it will spin and pivot like crazy.

Great way to drift slower than the current.

I love to fish from a boat, but I hardly ever row
    Limit Your Kill - Don't Kill Your limit

Adam Grace
    Past Kiene's Staff Member

Digger - Just purchased my first boat ever in Feb. It was an 2005 Hyde Pro series w/ the G4. I love the boat..!!

I'm a rookie on the oars, so I haven't taken her out as much as I should be - for good reasons.

Saftey for me is paramount. Before I even decide on taking any of my loved ones or friends on any float, I have to learn all the worse case scenarios in rowing. It's just that simple, and to understand that a rookie rower has at least this much of a learning curve in a live river, will make you a better and responsible rower.

Your humbled at times in learning that you are the motor and the rudder of this vessel at times. Rowing your self in a drift boat is a trick to learn in itself.

My best advice to you is learn your capabilities and get behind the oars in a lake first to learn the basic oar strokes, and the managibility of the wieght of the boat. This will determine if you want a 7 to 800 pound aluminum boat, or a Fibergalss 3 - 400 pound w/ some fancy anti rock shock coating for the bottom.

Even though there is not much literature in rowing - Hyde has an oustanding video in how to row a drift boat. Watch and practice it religiously.