Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fly Colors

Default Fly Colors

Question, I have been fishing for over 40 years and this year a buddy of mine has gotten me so dead set on fly fishing now. It is something that I have wished I done years ago. Anyways, what makes a fly color "the one" for the day?

For instance, one day I could throw a Red Copper John and hammer the trout. Then it does nothing but if I change to a gold color or brown, that one works. What is that you guys do to say, hey today looks like a red day versus a copper or silver one. I know the old saying, dark days, dark colors but sometimes it not true. Appreciate any input. Be safe on the water! Right now I am at about 21" for my personal best bow in a river.

Only the fish know why

Default "Only the fish no why"

When Salmon or Steelhead fishing, can't argue against that statement. I do believe that old premise, "bright day, bright fly; Dark day, dark fly" as it has served me well over the years. Obviously, nothing works every time, so, when whatever you're doing isn't working be ready to adapt and change....
    "America is a country which produces citizens who will cross the ocean to fight for democracy but won't cross the street to vote."

Author unknown