Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lower Sac in a 8’ Pontoon?

Default Lower Sac in a 8’ Pontoon?

Is it a bad idea? Rowing wise i have 2 years experience now on mostly coastal rivers other than a few floats on the lower yuba and american rivers, so not Very much, my main concern isnt fast water or obstacles so much as being intimidated by how wide the river is. My brother wants to do a multi day float from redding to red bluff...hed be in a kayak. I told him it sounds dangerous being in such small boats but after reading online it sounds like some people even canoe it...any input is appreciated, i am not familiar with the lower sac other than driving by it a lot. Thanks

I canoed posse to bonneview in the 90's it was fine. I've done it since in my 10 ft toon and did not find anything threatening. Feels great to "wade wet" when it's 100 degrees out. There's is a recirculating eddy below one of the islands that is a bit dicey. Most of the time boaters aim for the "V" in rapids and riffles. I think there are only class one riffles in there but rivers change, do your own research.
    It's run everyday in driftboats. It's always a good idea to wear a PFD and get out and scout if you can't see a clear line.
    "I never saw a fish I didn't want to catch"

There are a couple of boils that make me nervous. One is below Bonneyview.

There is a lot of rowing to get to Red Bluff. A lot. Less at high summer flows but still a lot. Too much for a pontoon boat IMHO.

Having done the multi day float a few times I think Jelly’s Ferry is a good take out. If you start at Posse it is hard to get to a campsite the first day. There is one a few miles below Anderson which is reachable in one day if you put in at Bonneyview. There is one a couple miles below Jelly’s which is good on the second night. We did camp at the Sac RV Park once which is reachable in one day from Posse. We went there first and paid so there would not be a problem when we arrived.