Thread: Do you have a retirement plan? I can help / inspire you.

Default Do you have a retirement plan? I can help / inspire you.

I worked in the fishing tackle business my entire adult like, watching mostly men go through life.

I do feel that in some ways I am an expert at retirement or at least I can talk a lot about it.

That said, I retired at 70 which in most cases is too late.

I had several customers retire in their 40s but they had special circumstances.

Most people here should have no trouble adjusting to retirement because they love the outdoors.

Some should never retire because they have nothing they want to do with that extra time?

Others are too thrift to retire because they can't spend the money it takes to go fishing.

Some have other issues / responsibilities that keep them from going off on trips.

Some are trapped in a profession where they are finally making what I call "the big money".

Many today, because of medical cost, can't retire until they are 63 / 65 so they can be on Medicare.

Some just can't retire because of economics.

OK, well I believe in retiring as soon as possible / practical.

This usually pisses off some people but I feel compelled to talk about it.

A serious fact is the sooner you retire, the longer you will live......check with your insurance salesman.

Conversely, the longer you wait to retire that sooner you will die.

I also have watched many of my friends / customers move to better fishing places to live.

Many have moved to Oregon and Washington to be closer to Steelhead rivers.

Many have moved to Idaho / Montanan to be closer to world class trout fishing.

One guy move to the Bahamas. Some moved to Florida / Texas.

Others have merely moved back home where they grew up.

Another trend I see are people that have two homes...one in Florida and one in Montana?

Fred Gordon spends half the year in Dunsmuir and half in New Zealand.