Thread: Rio Skagit Max Long

Default Rio Skagit Max Long

Hi guys,

I am very new to the Spey world and I recently purchased a Redington Chromer 7136-4 (13’6” 7 weight) and paired it with the Rio Skagit Max Long. However, I am curious if a shorter head would help me with my casting as sometimes it seems like too much line is on the water while I am casting. The problems I am having could be due to my beginner level as well. Any help is appreciated. Thank you.
    Last edited by Pvillarr; 06-29-2018 at 09:27 AM.

You want a Skagit Max, not the long or short, for that rod length.

Andy

Thank you for your quick reply Andy. The Rio Line Selector App said it was compatible but it also looks like it is right on the cutoff. Maybe more experienced casters can make it work better than I can.

You didn't say what tips you are using, which also matters. Assuming you are using MOW tips which are sort of standard these days, with the Rio skagit max long you will be at about 37' total head length vs. 33' with the standard 'max'. Both are perfectly reasonable head lengths for a 13'6" rod and should be manageable even for relatively new casters. There are definitely tradeoffs and different casters may have different preferences but if you are struggling I'd suggest finding a casting mentor before finding a new line.

Generally speaking the longer the head the more likely your problems are likely to be excess line stick, and, the shorter the head, the more likely your problems will be blown anchors. If you don't encounter both problems from time to time you are a very unusual caster indeed. Equipment changes won't fix casting issues, but too much mucking around with equipment can definitely delay the development of good technique and the ability to recognize and correct common casting faults.

Thank you for your reply. I am currently using a Mow T-11 (10 Feet I believe)

You are on the cutoff for the length of your skagit head... here are some things to think about.