Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fins for wading boots?

Question Fins for wading boots?

Looking for advice on fins that'll work with wading boots. I will be getting a float tube soon and was wondering what fins folks are using with their boots. I was thinking about just getting some aqua socks and slip on fins for warm water fishing in the summer but sometimes I frequent ponds that I have no desire to make long term skin contact with...

I have been using the Outcast backpack fins for several years. They are lightweight, cheap, and fit over my Simms G3 size 11 rubber soled boots. I have the hard bite studs in the soles and I don't see any excessive wear and tear on the fins. No gripes.

Sheepdog,
    I've used fins, always with boots. Here's another option ====www.amazon.com/Fishmaster-Style-Paddle-Pushers-fishing/dp/B00EDQLMAO

I had something like this years ago. Advantage is that you are propelling yourself forward.
    Lost one of them. Lesson learned? Invest in a device that will capture itself if you kick it
    off your foot.
    Any news on the new dog search?
    Best,
    Larry S
    Sun Diego

Thanks for the advice. I was looking at the outcast ones but they seemed a bit cheap. I guess if they work, they work. Larry, that's an interesting set you linked. I've never seen something like that before. It sure would be nice to be able to nose-in to slots rather than having to back in, turn around and then cast.

No luck on the puppy yet. We have explored a few options but for various reasons we decided to continue looking. Hopefully we will find our new companion soon!

I've done a LOT of float tube time up at lake Berryessa. I've used the outcast ones that slip over your wading boot and to be honest, they suck. You are much better off just using dive fins without your boots. The dive fins will give you more speed for less effort, more control and far less leg fatigue.

Quote Originally Posted by Mickey View Post