Thread: Fishing Spot info...

Default Fishing Spot info...

I'm thinking about going out to try and fish the Yuba at Hammond Grove later, just to get on the water. I keep hearing about Hat Creek and the Pits but I am not sure what or where those are. I live in Yuba City and I'm relatively new to the state. Can someone educate me?

Hat Creek and the Pit River are up north near Cassel, CA. We usually fish below Powerhouse #2 for Hat Creek and below Lake Britton dam or powerhouse #3 for the Pit River. The Pit is high right now because of repairs? I was just at Hat Creek and did okay. Lots of California fly fishing history and good water up there but locally since I'm from YC too I would stick to either small streams up in Nevada county or Putah Creek near Winters, CA. I miss the Yuba River...
    Keep Calm and Fly Fish
    https://keepcalmandflyfish.com/

My advise is to avoid the Pit River right now. It is a tough river to fish in normal rain years. With this years rain I believe it could be down right dangerous.

Quote Originally Posted by eastbayed View Post
    My advise is to avoid the Pit River right now. It is a tough river to fish in normal rain years. With this years rain I believe it could be down right dangerous.
    Jared,

You probably know we've had a record rain/snow year. Normal years the Pit or Hat would be a wise choice in early June as would upper sac/mccloud. Much better options right now. Stay away from the Pit. Its very technical wading and dangerous right now.

Honestly if you have the funds pay for a guided trip down the lower sac. Lots of good guides out there. (PM if you want my opinion). Its arguably the best wild trout fishery in the west. You will get into 20+ fish and have a blast. Flows are 12500-13000 right now and its fishing very good. I'm headed out in another week myself with my son. But you need to do it from a drift boat at these flows.