Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Spearfishing the American River

Default Spearfishing the American River

So sad... I've seen several huge stripers (up to 35 lbs) fall victim to the spearfishermen in the last 3 weeks. 3 huge females killed last week alone by spearfishermen in less than two hours. Its hard to believe that people still think there is an endless supply of fish left especially after reading about the historic numbers that once thrived here... although I guess its easier to not educate ourselves and continue our destructive self-serving pathetic behavior. I've been fishing for over 35 years and after continuing to notice the numbers fish decline early in my fishing career and it didn't take long to figure out that I had to release the fish I caught if I wanted to keep fishing. This is not a plea to spearfishermen but instead a call to all fishermen... Please do not go fishing for your dinner (there is no need). There are simply too many hurdles for fish to get past including water issues and the lack of it, dams interfering with migration and spawning, poor ocean environment/lack of food & warm water, over harvesting/poaching and the continual drop in fish populations to justify the need to keep killing what little fish populations that are left. I hope we can change this before we all start saying... "I remember how good the fishing was back in the day... now there's nothing left".
    Uh oh... maybe its already too late. -JP
    Jeff Putnam
    JP Flyfishing Schools
    http://jpflyfishing.com

Sounds like a sad state of affairs on the American river these days.

How can we let CDFW know that the practice is unsustainable?

Default Sustainable???