Thread: What to start with?

Default What to start with?

Hi everyone.I am new to tying and want to ask what i can get for the basics to start with?I really don't want to buy a kit because i may get stuck with a lot of stuff i may never use.I have an old thompson vise and a great pair of scissors,couple rolls of thread and the thread holder.I will fish for bass and panfish mostly.Not a lot of trout around here.I thought maybe i could start with wooly buggers and some surface flies.What feathers do i need which hooks do you all prefer for them?Also what would you think would be cheap and easy for a new guy to tie for bass and panfish?I live on a small disability check so not a rich guy here.Just trying to learn to tie a few cheap flies.Also i only have a 5wt rod for now so casting something big may be impossible for me.Thanks for the help.

Josh

Default What to Tie??

I've used a green spider (floating/sinking) for many years on Bluegill/Crappie around here. Cheap, simple and seems to work well. Sinking pattern follows:

Hook: Gamakatsu B10S, sizes from 8 down to 10 (your choice), larger sizes 4/2 have produced some Bass, as well as Bluegill/Crappie.
    Thread: Bright green (not chartreuse).
    Tail: White or barred black/white round rubber legs (length of body and splayed).
    Body: Bright green chenille (not too bulky).
    Legs: White round rubber legs (tie in while wrapping the body or at front)
    Wire weighting optional.

You can tie a bunch of these very cheaply. Also, you can make a floating version by using a pre-shaped foam body instead of chenille. This fly is easily cast on your light rod and will get you in the game. It's been successful for me over the years.

Good luck!! Looking forward to reports of your trips.
    Last edited by Darian; 02-23-2016 at 10:34 AM.
    "America is a country which produces citizens who will cross the ocean to fight for democracy but won't cross the street to vote."

Author unknown

check pm's
    ....lee s.