Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sage IV 1474-1 - Need help deciding

Default Sage IV 7141-4 - Need help deciding

Advanced beginner here looking for insight on a Sage IV 7141-4. Has anyone owned one? Impressions? I have a perfect condition, hardly used 7141-4. I bought it becuase it was a Sage and thought it might be a good salmon rod. It's mint, but it now sits in the closet all year. Everytime I take it out, I'm blown away by it and decide to keep it longer. But I don't use it enough. Now, I'm thinking about a lighter spey or switch for the American, so selling would go twards that. Thanks for any insight on this type rod and/or advice. Cheers.
    Last edited by ZWhit; 06-27-2015 at 03:36 PM. Reason: Typo fix

Do you mean a 7141?

Oops. Typo. Yes. Thanks for catching.

OK, here is my take.

If you like the rod, I'd say keep it. You sell it, at some point, you'll probably regret it. That rod is now several technology generations back, and, while it has its fans, is not likely to get a lot on the secondary market. So if the intent would be to put the funds into another rod, you'll probably be trading down, possibly quite a lot, in terms of build quality.