Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gear Travel Bag

Default Gear Travel Bag

Well,I think I'm in the market for a new travel bag. Right now I have a Eddie Bauer wheel bag that weighs around 12lbs. I'm looking to go lighter yet still have the capacity to put 50lbs in the bag (the porter will carry the bag). The bag has to hold 4 piece rod cases, this should make the bottom of the bag rigged. Also will be putting my reels in there, (coming back from Baja). I usually carry my rods in a travel case and my reels in my back pack when leaving the US, but things are sometimes different in the foreign country's.
    I've looked at FishPond, Simms, Patagonia, REI, etc.... Right now I have what they call a "body bag". It's about 4 1/2' in length and can fold up to a 12"x12" square. It only weighs 4lbs but is starting to get holes in it from being dragged around the terminals.

Any ideas

Jay

Default Travle Bag....

Hi Jay,.... I've been using an REI "Wheely Beast" for several years now and was going to recommend it but you've already checked out their website.

You might want to re-consider the FishPond rod carrier. I've used one for about three years now. I really like it and carry rods, only, using a single divider, I carry all of my partners and my 4 piece rods (6). I'm fairly sure I could carry 8 rods with careful packing. No flexibility on length of rods, tho. The rod case fits in the overhead storage on commercial aircraft that I've flown on.
    "America is a country which produces citizens who will cross the ocean to fight for democracy but won't cross the street to vote."

Author unknown

Hey Jay, check out the new TFO travel bags. I have several models and they are great. I have boat bags, rods cases, and big travel bags to fit everything you would need for some baja action. They even have some cool TFO knives as well, really nice products for the TFO line. The ono are starting to run on the south side of the big island. Next full moon should be a solid bite. Mems.