Thread: Steelhead Spey Guide Recs

Default Steelhead Spey Guide Recs

Was looking for some opinions on steelhead spey guys located in the Northern California Area. I have frequented several website and looked at different guides but wanted to hear some first hand experiences.

As finals wind down and winter break moves quickly upon me I was hoping to try to get out on the water in the coming weeks. I am still very new to spey casting and have thus far been self taught so was hoping to find an easy going guide that could teach me more about casting and fishing with the spey rod. Hooking into a fish would be a great bonus obviously. I would like to stay around the American River (as that is my home water and would enjoy learning more about the fishery) but understand that the fish may not have the numbers that the Trinity or similar places have. Knowing that I am open to a little travel.

Any thoughts on guides or areas/rivers to look into would be appreciated either here or PM.

Thanks, Hayden

Jason Hartwick - though not sure how much he fishes the American

http://steelheadonthespey.wordpress.com/

Hayden, call Andy at the shop if you want to fish the A.
    Jeff Putnam for lessons
    Taylor Wells for guiding on the American ,Yuba & Klamath
    Jason Hartwick for up north guiding
    Rich Zellman for up north guiding

I would recommend Rich Zellman : http://www.steelheadwater.com/#!=

Rich is an outstanding guide in terms of his knowledge, skill and dedication for hooking Steelhead on a Spey rod.

Hayden,
    Sent you a PM.
    Best,
    Larry S

Brian Clemens 530 354 3740
    http://www.norcalflyguides.com
    Or

Andy g @kienew

Both exceptional Both will put u into fish and teach u
    Last edited by DAVID95670; 12-14-2014 at 03:34 PM.
    There is a fine line between fishing and standing there like an idiot!