Thread: Taping the Ferrules

Default Taping the Ferrules

I am new to the 2 hand/skagit game, and have read a fair amount about taping the ferrules without a clear answer as of yet. My new 12 foot rod has very tight ferrules. They have yet to show any signs of loosening while casting(I still do check every 45 minutes or so like I did with my single hand), so I dont quite see the point of taping yet. For my specific case, the rod is so tight at the ferrules its hard to do any twist at all when tightening, and its very hard to take it apart at the top sections at the end of the day/run.

Is taping a legacy of long rods with long belly speys which maybe is not necessary with modern shorter rods with skagit heads? Or is it a better safe than sorry type mentality? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

I ran a search on the forum and the last time I think this topic was addressed was 05, with everyone taping so I thought I would ask for a fresh perspective on the matter.

I think you got it right.......I think taping is mostly for longer rods with longer lines.

I guess if you have a ferrule on a shorter rod that won't stay tight, you could tape it.
    Bill Kiene (Boca Grande)

567 Barber Street
    Sebastian, Florida 32958

Fly Fishing Travel Consultant
    Certified FFF Casting Instructor

Email: billkiene63@gmail.com
    Cell: 530/753-5267
    Web: www.billkiene.com

Contact me for any reason........

Two handers generate a lot of power regardless of what lines. When one starts into the two hand game it is good to tape the ferrules until you find that sweet spot in your cast. When learning there is a lot of overpowering the rod which leads to loose ferrules. Sounds like you got your stroke down with a nice tightly fitted rod. I am a fan of orvis ferrule wax my self,it will also help with breaking down your rods. Just make sure to keep them free of grit & grime. My 2 cents
    Last edited by Mark Kranhold; 06-12-2014 at 08:45 PM.