Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Swinging for Steelhead--does the fly matter?

Default Swinging for Steelhead--does the fly matter?

I had this conversation with a buddy last night, and I'm wondering--does the fly really matter?

(NOTE that we are not talking about trout.)

Everyone has the pretty pattern that they love to go-to or to tie. And I get that. I'm much the same way.

But I'm wondering, does the PATTERN of the fly matter at all?

I'm of the opinion that it DOES NOT matter....but I'm a relative newbie in the great world of swinging for steelhead, only doing it for 3 years now.

In my (limited) experience, it's more about presentation, color, movement, size, weight, and profile than "looks" on the bench.

It's my understanding that Ed Ward himself (the guru of skagit) fishes mo more than a worm weight and strips of different color bunny fur...

What say you?

I have kept a journal for over 30 years, and the patterns always depend on flows, seasons, and weather.
    I have also done some experimentation in the river. I would catch a few steelhead on a favorite fly, then change the fly to see what happens, and almost always proved that the fly was important.

Of course it matters. Have you ever caught a fish on a brown fly in a muddy river? Clarity (which always plays a big role in steelhead fishing due to the best time being right as the rvier drops) always dictates color. Also, the style of fly e.g. articulated v. non-articulated, dictates things such as movement etc. I would assume that the size of a fly (as long as we are talking about within normal sizes) doesnt matter as much as it does with trout, but deffinately i would think the style of fly as well as, and color, play a huge role in swinging.

Question Does the Fly Matter....