Thread: Setup recommendations for Shad

Default Setup recommendations for Shad

All,

I'm new to the shad game, but would like to get more into it as I just got my new Scadden Renegade!! Anyway, what type of line setup would you recommend for this noob? I'd rather not throw down on a bunch of spools if it's not necessary. I know they have the interchangable tip lines - is that what you pros use?? I have a 7wt 9' BVK and a Scott S3 6wt 9' - was thinking they should be fine?

Thanks for your help and Tight Lines

Eric

Eric,

I fish a Sage Z-Axis switch rod with two different lines. If I am casting single hand I like a 420 grian intergrated shooting head. For double hand I use a 425 Rio Short Skaget with light Mows. I like the the 2.5 float 7.5 sink. It's a great all around setup. If I go to a versileader I like the 10 foot type 4. It gives me flexiableity to fish deep or shallow by adjusting my cast.

if you like any more info I can send you some of the setups via email.

Thanks - and get out there - the shad have been screaming!!
    Lance Gray
    Fly Guide
    530-517-2204
    http://www.lancegrayandcompany.com

Red face