Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: fishing in Belize

Default fishing in Belize

Hi,

I am heading to Belize at the end of March and am looking for some advice for fishing. I have no experience except for a half day bonefishing once. I also have no agenda, so any and all advice will be appreciated. I have an 8 wt rod and was thinking I would probably need a 10 wt also.

Thanks,
    tom

Tom, do a google search using my name to look at my belize reports. Try something like dan blanton phil brna belize or placencia. You could do the same for Kiene's but I don't know if that will work with google. Read those and then start asking questions. Lots of guys here and on Blanton have been fishing in Belize. If you have an 8 wt and 1/2 day experience you have a ways to go but you can get there. Where are you going and what do you want to fish for?

i will search those things, i was looking for basic information, what i should bring, some guide options, is do it yourself possible? i have no agenda, i have no set places to be, figured i would just kinda wing it when i get there. would like to fish for the usual suspects, permit, bones, tarpon

thanks

Make the same post on blanton.com. You will get a a lot more info because on that site there are a lot of posters from areas far out side of California.
    So long and thanks for all the fish!!!
    `·.¸¸.·´¯`·.. ><((((º>`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º>`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.. ><((((º>

sent you a PM

Default Belice

Where are you going in Belice? Phil can help you out in the south. I can help you out in the north. High 5 Phil.
    Fish like the humans you are-- L. Hemingway

hi, thanks for all the replies so far, i've been checking out the suggestions.

i don't have a set destination, figured i would just kick around a little bit here and there, so far i am thinking of hanging out a few days in caye caulker and then some in placencia or dangriga or some other place, probably some days inland as well

thanks,
    tom