Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: suggest lake for kayak

Default suggest lake for kayak

Hi all,

A long time river/wade trout fisherman, I just recently picked up a fishing kayak. So far no luck on a couple east bay reservoir outings, but I've got an opportunity to get a solid day of fishing in this Friday. Since I'm new to this, I was hoping to get some advice on a lake or two to try. PM's are cool.

I need to be in South Lake Tahoe Friday evening. Ideally I'd camp somewhere Thursday evening and hit the water first light. I've got a decent kayak cart, so I could drag it a couple hundred yards if needed.

Caples? Looks like I couldn't hit the water until 8AM during the week.

Thanks in advance,
    Joe

Quote Originally Posted by ninepoundjammer View Post
    Hi all,

A long time river/wade trout fisherman, I just recently picked up a fishing kayak. So far no luck on a couple east bay reservoir outings, but I've got an opportunity to get a solid day of fishing in this Friday. Since I'm new to this, I was hoping to get some advice on a lake or two to try. PM's are cool.

I need to be in South Lake Tahoe Friday evening. Ideally I'd camp somewhere Thursday evening and hit the water first light. I've got a decent kayak cart, so I could drag it a couple hundred yards if needed.

Caples? Looks like I couldn't hit the water until 8AM during the week.

Thanks in advance,
    Joe
    Wrights Lake is PERFECT for you. Off of 50 about 45 minutes from South Lake. Amazing inlet creek channel for kayaking, and decent numbers of planters and wild browns to keep it interesting. No motors allowed, smallish lake, can be paddled around in maybe an hour. Beautiful campground but it can sell out. You can dispersed camp off a logging road nearby if necessary though.

_SHig

Quote Originally Posted by SHigSpeed View Post