Thread: Merced River Info???

Default Merced River Info???

I am a relative newby to fly fishing and have never really thrown flys outside of the Trinity. I have been fishing that river for the past 10 years and have fallen in love with this type of fishing. I do not think I have used my spinning outfits but once or twice in that time frame. My father used to live in Lewiston, CA so I was always up there. I did get out on the
    Lower Sac earlier this summer and gaught 3 of the biggest bows for me ever. A couple at 17" and one at 18". I went with Lonnie from the Fly Shop and I thought he was great, good company and got me into fish.

Now that my pops is no longer with us I am looking to venture to some other rivers. I live in Morgan Hill, CA and thought I might go out and try the Merced in the next week or two. It seems like it might be the closest river to me with some potential.

I would love some avice if anyone is willing to share. Is it a good fry fly river or more of nymphing river. Is it wadeable or do you need a boat? I haven't noticed any reports on this river is there a place where I can get current information on the river?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Oh yeah. New to this site and really find it informative.

Welcome to the board. The Merced near El Portal is very nice. I'm not sure what the conditions are like but you can check with the fly shop in Modesto or google Sierra fly fishers. They have a blog. Good luck and have a great time.
    Jason

Welcome to the board. Glad to hear you're enjoying fly fishing.