Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Anyone use a Regal Vise?

Default Anyone use a Regal Vise?

I have had my regal vise for decades. Now when I put a hook in the jaws it sometimes pops out and goes flying across the room to be lost forever. This has been going on for well over a year and is getting worse now I am getting really pissed losing hooks in the carpet, (hooks ain't getting cheaper these days). I must have lost a few dozens of hook.

WTF is going on?
    Are the jaws finally worn out?

Anyone have this problem and did you send it in for repairs and what happened? I think it is supposed to be warranted for life.
    Did the co try and bilk money out of you for warranty repairs and bs shipping and handling costs like Sage does?
    I have to get this fixed or get a new vise. I am very ready for a rotary but have been clinging to this old vise.
    Last edited by 1flyfisher; 02-19-2011 at 03:10 PM.

Thumbs up Regal Vices

I've been using a Regal Vice for about 5 years now and haven't experienced the problem yours exhibits.

What appears to be going on is probably normal wear and tear. The metal surrounding the area where your hook is held in the vice has worn smooth and maybe a bit cambered (hope that makes sense). When you place a forged wire hook (flat surface in the bend), it may hold; where a round wire hook is propelled by the pressure applied by the jaws. So, the jaws are apparently worn out for your application.

The only way to find out about warranties or charges for repairs is to call the company and ask or check out their website.

An alternative to sending it back is to buy a new set of jaws. They come in various sizes and are cheaper than buying a new vice. I bought an extra set of jaws that accommodate a larger size fly as I tie a bunch of salty flies these days.
    "America is a country which produces citizens who will cross the ocean to fight for democracy but won't cross the street to vote."

Author unknown

Mike O Guest