Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Lower Yuba wading options?

Question Lower Yuba wading options?

I noticed that the flows have dropped down a bit more, ~2200cfs, and I'm wondering what this might be like for shore wading access? I've never been to the lower Yuba, but I gather that these flows are not exactly the easiest but still doable. I'm a novice/intermediate type who's in the middle of a steep learning curve and I'm eager to continue my successes with as much quality fishing as I can get into (this could probably be put more succinctly by saying I'm desperate!). I've been doing ok up on the Truckee this last month, but hoping for some other options to explore.

Any words on any of the following questions would be greatly appreciated:
    -Would there still be some good wading options?
    -Would this be a "fools mission" for a newbie at these flows?
    -Any suggestions as to where to start?
    -Any sage words of encouragement to convince me that I'm not crazy and that I may indeed stand a chance at some success?

Thanks in advance, PM's are fine too of course.
    Cheers, JB

Jason,

I say go for it! I put in the first 3 years of learning to fly fish (still learning) on the Lower Yuba (until I found other places without so many people). I think it's a great river to learn on. The fishing can be very tough, but you never know. Wading won't be easy, don' t think you'll be able to cross at those flows, but you should be able to fish the edges and some runs as well. Try rubber leg stones with a dropper pattern, unless you see them rising. Good luck!

Where in Garden Valley do you live, I grew up in Georgetown? Class of '97.

Dan

Default thanks

Thanks Dan,
    I actually live on the east side of hwy193, it's really closer to Kelsey and Georgetown, but technically still in Garden Valley. We live on Bear creek, if you're familiar with the area.
    Cheers,
    JB

Default Just be sure to keep an eye out for barbed wire