Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Alaska Float Trip

Default Alaska Float Trip

We are organizing a float trip in Alaska for my buddies bachelor party next summer and I was looking for any suggestions on rivers/outfitters. I have contacted a few different people, however I was hoping to get some firsthand experiences. Let me know if you have the chance.

Thanks,
    Life is a book and those who do not travel read only one page

Default Alaska float trip

I am by no means an expert but I have organized three self guided float trips on two different rivers. Nothing like it, definitely an experience even without the great fishing.

pm me for more info if you like

Hodge
    Hodge

I recommend getting in touch with Mark Rutherford of Wild River Guide Company. He has a great reputation and offers stunning wilderness angling adventures.

I've done this a couple times, most recently the Kanektok, which everybody wants to do and is nice, but a bit too many guides and jets on the lower end for my liking; not that busy - but I'd want less - I think if I go back that way (western AK), I'm gonna try something a bit less famous.

There are lots of other fishable/floatable rivers out that way (~1 hour bushflight from Bethel, AK). You can do many of them unguided without much skill. Here are a few of the bushpilots that have been around there awhile and have rafts/other rental eqpmt:

wade: http://www.tikchikadventures.com/

steve: http://www.pbadventures.com/

It can be very buggy until at least mid-august, and insect repellent isn't that effective - doesn't bother me, but if any of your group is a girly-man, either leave them at home or go later - probably early september, and take your chances at getting more silvers but with more rain.
    Last edited by amoeba; 12-02-2010 at 07:28 PM. Reason: spelling

Default Float trip guides