Thread: silver fork area fire restrictions ?

Default silver fork area fire restrictions ?

Taking a group of total newbies to the silver fork this weekend. Anyone know what the current fire restrictions are for dispersed camping along the river ? Hows the flow and water temp ? I haven't been there since early august. Thanks for any help.

troutbm

Did you ever find out what the restrictions were? I would assume you could call the forrest service to find out. I may be going in a couple weeks so let us know how it goes.
    Thanks.
    "If one really loves nature, one can find beauty everywhere." -Vincent Van Gogh

Most, if not all of the dispersed sites that I used for years have been closed off by boulders to keep vehicles out, you can still pack your stuff down to the river though. I'm assuming that standard National Forest fire regs apply, make sure you have your permit and you should be fine. a quick call to the Forest Service should confirm that.

Troutbm,
    Although it is to late to reply to you, troutbm, I'm posting this so other reader will have this information. Much of the land in the Sierra mountains belongs to and is owned by Sierra Pacific Industries. Camping, for the most part, is not allowed. Please make sure that if you set up camp that it is on U.S. Forest Service land. As for camp fire regs., check with the Forest Service.
    Also for your information, deer season in the area is Sept 25 thru Oct 31.

Thanks
    Dan

Default Silver Fork camping

Hey Troutbum: