Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Redington Predator

Default Redington Predator

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to the bass game and was wondering if there are any opinions on the Redington Predator series. I'm thinking about picking up a 6 and an 8 to use in some of the rivers, lakes and ponds near me. I like Redington rods but haven't been able to get my hands on these yet.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

thanks,
    Chris

Got one at Kiene's expo LAST year. LOVE it! Going to use it in the Bass N Fly in a few weeks. I use the 8 wt, as we primarily fish for LMB in the delta.

I've used the Sage Largemouth too, and IMHO, the predator works just as well for me.

There's a 3rd company out there that makes a green one too, but I can't remember the name of it off hand. It wasn't bad either...
    - Robin

"Yes, size does matter..."

Thank you Robin,

I've also been very impressed with Redington rods. I use as 10' 8 wt CPS and a 7 wt CPX switch rod. I've only used Redington rods for steelhead so far. For the price, Redington does a very good job, which is why I'm interested in this series for bass.

BTW, what line are you using with the 8 wt for topwater? Does it work well with sinking lines too?

Any line suggestions for the 6 or the 8 would be appreciated.

thanks again
    Last edited by cmgfly; 05-05-2010 at 11:00 AM. Reason: line question

For top water bass you wont beat the Rio Out Bound Short, its already over lined by two, so for the average rod/fly just go with whats on the box. If your throwing real big stuff or a fast rod then maybe go up by one.

Robin the rod your thinking of is the Ross Worldwide Fly Stick and is available up to a 10wt, great rods for the money.

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Gonzales View Post
    For top water bass you wont beat the Rio Out Bound Short, its already over lined by two, so for the average rod/fly just go with whats on the box. If your throwing real big stuff or a fast rod then maybe go up by one.