Thread: the perfect flats rig

Cool the perfect flats rig

so i'm new to flats and saltwater flyfishing, i am planning a trip to belize this summer for a grand introduction and hoping at a chance for bones, permit, and tarpon. i'm looking for some wisdom on setting up the best rig for all around flats fishing. a rod/reel/line set up to target bones, permit, and baby tarpon (plan to rent a rod for adult tarpon). not necessarily looking for brand names, but more what is the best set up, 8 wt, 9 wt?? right now i am leaning towards a fast action 8 or 9 weight. also, why do people over-line rods by a weight? is this recommended? what type of line would be best to target these species from the flats? do i need extra spools? thank you oh wise ones. your help is appreciated.
    hey, careful man, there's a beverage here

Having recently returned from Bone fishing on Oahu, I can speak to this a little.
    It was recommended that when fishing salt water that you should overline. It was explained to me that it helps with distance casting which, after my experience, I can't argue with.

I would get a new mid-priced (~$300) 9' #8 - 4pc rod and put a new for 2009 Rio Tarpon WF9F on it.

New for 2009 Scott A3, Sage Flight, TFO TiCrX, Echo2 SW.....................etc.

For most fish you will encounter but adult Tarpon this will work great.

It would work fine for throwing small streamers for Tarpon and Snook in the mangroves and small/medium crabs for Permit on the flats. It will be fine for Bonefish too.

Where are you going and what month?
    Bill Kiene (Boca Grande)

567 Barber Street
    Sebastian, Florida 32958

Fly Fishing Travel Consultant
    Certified FFF Casting Instructor

Email: billkiene63@gmail.com
    Cell: 530/753-5267
    Web: www.billkiene.com

Contact me for any reason........

thanks bill, you are always all over these posts!! thats pretty much the rig i was thinking, just needed some confirmation. planning to go to central belize in august