Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 3wt or 4wt, 5 piece or 7 piece

Default 3wt or 4wt, 5 piece or 7 piece

I am looking into getting a travel rod that I will use on a regular basis for trout in creeks, streams, and rivers. I want something I can keep in my car all the time. My first question is directed to a 5 piece or 7 piece, are their benefits with either one, I think the 5 piece would be better due to the fact it seems like it would be not as stiff and a little more forgiving on the fish.

As for the weight, I like light tackle, but will I run into trouble if I get a nice double digit (10"+) trout on a 3wt, or will I be ok.

I am still new to the fly fishing world so please understand if my questions are basic.

Thanks for any and all helpful information.
    So long and thanks for all the fish!!!
    `·.¸¸.·´¯`·.. ><((((º>`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º>`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.. ><((((º>

Scott, the more pieces or sections in a rod generally the more stiff it will be since rod connections do not flex as well as a single piece of rod blank. Redington has a nice 5pc 3wt, I think that it's 7'. As far as the weight of the rod and the size of the trout, you will be able to land a trout much larger than 10" but if you think that you'll be catching and average of fish around 15" or more you might want to get a 4wt.
    Limit Your Kill - Don't Kill Your limit

Adam Grace
    Past Kiene's Staff Member

As Adam said, a 4wt is probably a bit more versatile, buy you can certainly land a 10" fish on a 3. The Redington rods are pretty nice for the $$$ and even a 4 piece should be sufficient for keeping stashed in the trunk. Check out the TFO's too.
    “To me the indescribable sense of anticipation and mystery in simply going fishing is almost half the fun.” - Robert Traver