Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: What to try when the reports say "Senko"

Default What to try when the reports say "Senko"

Because I am new to this "warmwater" fly fishing suff I have no idea what to use when I get to a lake and they say the bite is great on plastic worms. Anybody have any patterns to suggest? I definately can try wooley buggers and minnow imitations and wait for topwater but just trying to figure out a searching worm pattern to gain some more confidence..Thanks, Craig.
    "If one really loves nature, one can find beauty everywhere." -Vincent Van Gogh

Craig

Try a fly tied with a long rabbit strip in black, burgandy or chartuese. Add a little flash, with a conehead so it swims like a jig.

Jay

Default Plastic Worms...

How about a Senko pattern Go over to the darkside for a little action.

May the force be with you
    "America is a country which produces citizens who will cross the ocean to fight for democracy but won't cross the street to vote."

Author unknown

Stick with your Clousers and other sub-surface minnow patterns. I also like Jay's idea of trying a long rabbit strip coneheaded fly -- a lot of gear guys experience great jig fishing in the early spring while the water's still cool.

Unfortunately, I do not believe it is possible to create a Senko at the vise. Oh sure, it's possible to use giant chenille and what-not to create a pattern that kind of LOOKS like a Senko while sitting on top of a table. But I do not believe it is possible to create a fly pattern that comes close to simulating how a weightless Senko behaves (its magic) once it hits the water. Too bad really.
    -- Mike

Chuck Norris has already been to Mars; that's why there are no signs of life.

Why would you want to immi a lure? Why not better immi what the lure immi's?
    ....lee s.

A 'turd '( senko) is a 'dead' bait .

Bass eat them when they are NOT in the mood to chase things (negative or neutral mood) - try this ....