PDA

View Full Version : Time to start tying.

Ben Kobrin
01-10-2007, 03:15 PM
Now that I've been fishing for a few years, I suppose I've got to start tying some flies. I've been reading this board for quite some time and I've even asked a question from time to time, so I've got plenty of great information but it's time to take the next step.

Before I jump right into buying equipment, I'd like to get a few recommendations on a good beginners book that I can pick up. Or, is the abundance of info on the web sufficient and I should just buy the cheapest vice/tool combo set I can find and get cracking? Ideally I'd love to take a class of some sort, but there aren't any available that I have found in the Stockton area; and my hectic job keeps me from driving up to Sac for any classes that may be offered there. As always, any advice would be appreciated.

-ben

Flycanoe
01-10-2007, 03:48 PM
This is the book I used to learn how to tie. It is an excellent book for the beginner and also very inexpensive.

http://www.amazon.com/Art-Tying-Hunting-Fishing-Library/dp/0865730431/sr=8-15/qid=1168468839/ref=sr_1_15/102-6890543-2767307?ie=UTF8&s=books

Hairstacker
01-10-2007, 04:02 PM
I would pick up Skip Morris' "Fly Tying Made Clear and Simple" and John Van Vliet's "Art of Fly Tying." You'll be able to teach yourself how to tie armed with these two. A great supplement to these two is Dave Hughes' "Essential Trout Flies."