PDA

View Full Version : Delta Structure?

slimfishin's
11-26-2006, 09:33 PM
I had a chance to fish the Delta a couple days this week while I was back visiting my folks in CA. Looks like some other folks got out too - judging by the boat traffic out there. Seems there was a garbage can/laundry basket hatch going on as well. :lol:

I was having pretty mixed success out there, and was curious to get some feedback on what type of structure you guys like to fish out there. It seems that some folks like drop offs... or weedbed edges.... etc.

What type of habitat do you look for when chasing stripers? How much do you rely on your fishfinders?

Thanks
SF

Ed Wahl
11-26-2006, 11:47 PM
I'm not an expert but I would concentrate on the open ends of the trash cans. :D

Darian
11-27-2006, 12:25 AM
Ed,.... I'm a shopping cart guy, myself.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Slim,.... Primarily, I look for areas with current seams for Stripers. Next are drop-offs next to flats (shallows). I use my fish finder for locating fish but turn it off when fishing. Also, I look for water temp and depth.

Of course, if there's a strong wind, I look for quiet, sheltered areas that have hamburgers, etc. 8) 8) 8)

lee s.
11-27-2006, 10:48 AM
SF,
We only occasionally do stripers, so you may want to get out the salt-shaker as you read this.
We use fly gear so we generally preferr water less than 12' deep, but occasionally have to target water to 20' or more. Deminishing returns usually correspond with added depth due to the nature of the functionality of our gear. There is other gear much better suited to deep water pestering.
Stripes and LM's seem to use the same "structure" in the delta....LM's seem to hide IN it and ambush their meal (usually) and stripes use it to corral their meal from OUTSIDE it (usually).