PDA

View Full Version : Newbie looking for some advice.

DBrown
11-16-2006, 12:21 PM
I am fairly new to fly fishing, and new to the Sacramento area as well. I am aware that a lot of trout streams have recently closed for the season.
I am looking for some advice on local streams and rivers to fish that are still open, and fairly local. Any help, guidance, directions.. would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

D. Brown

sacreno
11-16-2006, 12:48 PM
Welcome to the communiity! What type of fishing are you looking to do? Trout, Steelehead, Salmon, Striper Bass/Pan fish? We've got it all! I've been fishing for Steeleheads on the American. If you do go, make sure your below the powerlines @ Ancil Hoffman park (look the park up on mapquest.com).

Many people here will help you but your best bet is to get to Kiene's Fly Shop on Marconi Ave and talk with them. Bill, Marilyn and the crew are awesome! They can point you in the right direction.

Good Luck

Steve

DBrown
11-16-2006, 01:09 PM
I have mainly only fished for trout.. I am open to trying my hand at steelhead. Wouldn't have the first clue what to do though.. Where to go.. Flies etc.. any advice??

Darian
11-16-2006, 02:10 PM
DBrown,.... In addition to this BB community, it might be worth your time to go to or call Kiene's Fly Shop for some hands on advice from the guys in the shop. the time spent will cut down on the learning curve. 8) 8) 8)

millertime
11-16-2006, 05:07 PM