PDA

View Full Version : Getting started in Spey casting/fishing

Bill Kiene semi-retired
10-28-2006, 11:33 AM
Most of the people I see getting into Spey have already been doing some Steelhead fishing here on the West Coast.

First I will start by telling you I am a beginner Spey caster but I think I know how to get started by watching what is going on around here.

I would not just buy a Spey outfit and just head out to the river because it will not be a good thing.

First you need a little help in having someone pick a rod that is right for your intended uses.

Then the biggest mistake you can make after that is to buy the wrong type of Spey line and even the wrong size.

The reel is merely a very large reel, maybe 2 size bigger than you imagine. Small Spey rods usually require a #10 reel while larger Spey rod need a #12 reel to hold all that line.

After you get a good outfit together you need a big river.

Next, the ideal thing is to get some group or private lessons from a Spey instructor. Here in Nor Cal we are blessed because we have one of the few FFF Certified Spey Casting Instructors, Jeff Putnam.

If you can't get to one of these classes you could either buy a DVD on Spey casting.

The other way is to go out with a Steelhead guide who teachers Spey casting/fishing while they are guiding you.

There are local Spey events in CA, Oregon and Washington that you might attend as well.

You just need to dedicate a year to just Spey to get started.

I compare it to marshall arts or ball room dancing.

Rick J
10-28-2006, 12:22 PM
Although I have been fly fishing for over 30 years and have taught FF classes at HSU I never thought spey stuff was for me. Maybe 6 years ago my Frind Dave Schatchter and I drove up to the Skeena and noticed we were about the only two that were using single handed rods.