PDA

View Full Version : Collared Clouser

Jay Murakoshi
10-06-2006, 06:51 PM
I have added a red bead to all my clousers. Unlike the thread wraps on most clousers, I decided to experiment and see if this will make the fish strike more.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v358/jaysflies/clouser1-1.jpg

The other photo is a mayfly (I think) What type? The hatch was coming off in my backyard this morning

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v358/jaysflies/Mayfly-1.jpg

Jay

J.R.
10-06-2006, 08:03 PM
Nice Clouser, I wish I could tie 'em like that. I'm relatively new to tying the Clouser pattern and I get 1 right about every 3 attempts, lack of consistancy I guess. :oops: :(

And I'd guess that the mayfly is a callibaetis spinner.

Darian
10-06-2006, 11:43 PM
Hey Jay,.... That fly looks very good. Got all of the right colors. Oughta do well in the Delta.... 8) 8) 8)

jbird
10-07-2006, 12:40 AM
Jay

I really like that fly! Simplicity always scores well with me! :D

Jay

Flyjunkie
10-07-2006, 10:24 PM
JAY,

You tye the Sweetest Clousers.. You always do them just right.. I like the Bright red throat/Bead addition.. You Know they'll get bite....

Gotta agree with J.R. ~ that's a Callibaetis Spinner... Damn fine Close up, very detailed... :wink:

DEAN ~~~ 8) 8)

Jay Murakoshi
10-08-2006, 12:55 PM
Dean,

I had this hatch going on in the backyard. I guess you can't really call it a hatch, they were just flying around. We have a bunch of lakes close to the house and the SJ river just a short distance.
The bug landed on a towel hanging on the fence and I took the photo with my new Nikon 105mm 2.8 VR lens. I was around 10' away and used the Macro function, hand held. Could of been better if on a tripod.

I'm curious, no one has asked how to "apply" the bead over the material.

:D , :D

Jay

lee s.
10-08-2006, 01:10 PM
Well Jay,