PDA

View Full Version : New to Forum

Sacto John
07-26-2006, 06:45 PM
I have been lurking around here for awhile now and wanted to post. I am an avid bass fisherman who has not fished with a fly rod in years. I am wanting to get a fly rod for bass and was hoping to get some advise from you guys for a good inexpensive ($100.00 or so) setup. I will be using this rod for bass and stripers as I fish the Delta all the time both from my boat and my kick boat. Also I would appreciated some tips on what poppers and flies I should buy, remember I am a newbie and basically clueless when it comes to flies and fly fishing. Thanks in advance.

David Lee
07-26-2006, 07:47 PM
Welcome John !!

Under $100.00 ??

Albright Yellowstone 9 foot 8 wt. =$40.00

1495 Medalist (used ...) =$20.00

Cortland 333 Bass taper , #8 =$35.00

20 lb. backing = $10.00

Trilene Big Game spools , 25 and 15 lb. = $15.00

$120.00 bucks is just about as cheap as it gets in the fly department . I own a rig almost the same .... and it works .

David

Hairstacker
07-26-2006, 09:00 PM
Hey John, welcome!!

As far as flies for the Delta:

Largemouth Bass -- For topwater, it would be hard to go wrong with size 2 Dahlberg Divers, which are very popular and arguably one of the very most effective topwater bass flies used out there. I happen to be a big fan of size 2 deerhair poppers as well (the classic red/white Tap's Bug in particular). For subsurface, you would never catch me out there without size 1/0 chartreuse/white Clouser Deep Minnows when the topwater bite just isn't happening.

Stripers -- I'd again go with the size 1/0 chartreuse/white Clouser Deep Minnows. Whistlers in the 1/0 to 2/0 size range are also popular out there for stripers.

Good luck!! Beware, get into a good topwater bass bite with your new fly rod and you just may become permanently addicted to it. :lol:

Richard
07-27-2006, 12:47 AM