PDA

View Full Version : Advice for Saturday's bass trip from top guide KD.

Bill Kiene semi-retired
07-19-2006, 01:14 PM
"Bill - you will be fishing the outgoing tide which will be a minus tide around 10:00am or so.

Fishing the fall is a good thing'.

Grey light until about 9-930 would be my call if you are fishing weeds.

Hit the rock walls (deeper water)as you near the bottom of the tide.....Washington cut area.

Carlo Proto just called me from the Delta and just hooked a 6 lb'r. 6am.

Kev"

Sounds like the morning should be a good one for us. Try to get out as early as you can.

Richard
07-19-2006, 02:20 PM
Here is the place I use for the tide charts for Bethel Island.

http://www.deltasportsman.com/tidesmain.htm

KD will have to check me on this as I am still an amateur at doing fishing forecasts based on tides. Even so, here are some guesses from an amateur.

It shows the low at 11:05 at -0.3. It is coming from a +4.1 at 3:13AM so the current will be moving pretty fast early in the morning. KD is the expert and that early morning period should be good, but watch the current as it will be really moving. It should start to slow down a little after 10. But that's when the skiers will be on the water, so watch out. :paranoid:

The afternoon high is at 5:51, but it's only a +2.9. That isn't that high and the shift is relatively small so the current flow will be down from the morning. The evening low is at 10:34 but it's only 1.5 so the current flow on the outgoing will be very small. KD will have to check me on this, but I expect that with a slow outgoing tide that the evening bite might be really good starting about 7:00 and perhaps earlier with the high being only 2.9. The afternoon should be really a good one for those with kayaks as you shouldn't have to fight the current so much.