PDA

View Full Version : Bacalar Channels - What flies to tie??

Richard
12-18-2005, 06:13 PM
I'm going to the Bacalar Channels in February. I'm new to saltwater fishing so I need some help. Anyone know what the best flies to tie might be? I am already tying Crazy Charlies in tan, anything else? What crab patterns are best for that area and what colors? Anything else I should know? I'm planning on using an 8wt rod wth a Redington Breakwater reel, 200 yards of backing and a SA Ultra IV saltwater floating line. Will that work? Should I go up on the line weight (use a 10 instead of an 8 for the rod like I do for stripers and largemouth)?

Thanks!!

Richard

Darian
12-19-2005, 01:25 PM
Hey Richard,.... Not sure where the Bacalar Channels are or what fish you might be targeting.... :? :? It'd be easier to answer your query with that info. If you don't get much of a response, here, try posting on Blanton's site as well. Lotsa saltwater fly fisherman/travelers over there. 8) 8)

Good luck :D :D

Richard
12-19-2005, 05:22 PM
Darian,

As I understand it this is a "grand slam" area on the border of Mexico and Belize. It has bonefish, permit and tarpon. I am pretty sure I will only be fishing for bonefish with a possibility for permit. Hopefully I won't lay into any tarpon with my 8 wt rod. :)

PaulC
12-19-2005, 06:43 PM
Hey Richard,
Never fished there, but crab wise you probably couldn't go wrong with some merkins, and some of the turneffee crab patters with furry foam and some bonefish bitters.
Other things like gotchas, etc. would probably be a good staple in weighted and unweighted/very lightly weighted versions.
If you have a clear intermediate line, I'd bring that also.
Darian's suggestion on the Blanton board is a good one. You may also want to try Gary Bulla's board (www.garybulla.com) as there are some bonefish and belize regulars that may pipe in with some info.
Good luck out there. Would love to see a report when you get back.
-Paul

Bill Kiene semi-retired