PDA

View Full Version : Fly Swing Technique

burdiman
12-14-2005, 09:42 AM
Hi, I have been an occasional lurker on this site and the NCFFB forum and have really appreciated both of them. As a relative beginner I don't really have occasion to provide information.

My question is how does one "swing' a fly? I typically fish the split shot, egg, nymph rig and have had some success but would like to try swinging the fly.

Thanks for any help.

Gary B

Darian
12-14-2005, 10:34 AM
The major difference between swinging flies and nymphing or indicator fishing (as you're already been doing) is that one is done by casting upstream and the other downstream.... 8) 8) Now, that's an over simplification as there're many variations of each technique. :?

Basically, when "swinging", a cast begins quartering down/across stream and letting the fly swing across the current until it is directly below the caster..... This can be accomplished with surface or sub-surface lines. 8)

Each technique has it's advantages/disadvantages.... My personal choice is to swing fies but will adapt to whatever catches fish. :D :D

alaskanfish
12-14-2005, 10:53 AM
burdiman,

Darian's post is right on. Here is a link to FlyAnglers Online. http://www.flyanglersonline.com/ Click on the Fly Fishing 101 and you will find several articles about swinging the fly, surface and subsurface.

Enjoy.

bubzilla
12-14-2005, 03:15 PM