PDA

View Full Version : Need Help Sorting Through the Publications

Randolph R. Birkman
12-11-2005, 11:08 AM
I am relatively new to the sport of fly fishing so I have yet to review all the magazines in this area. Could the more seasoned members of the message board please be of assistance. In an effort to keep my life simple, I am looking for one magazine that provides travel suggestions, tips/techniques, information on new products and topics (environmental, political, etc.) important to the sport. Simply put, if you had to take one magazine on the subject, what would it be and why?

Thanks

Terry Thomas
12-11-2005, 11:22 AM
If I had to choose one magazine...California Fly Fisher.. Several good travel destinations within the state each issue. Andy Burk always has an interesting pattern or technique. Ralph Cutter, one of the best in the "bug world." Tom Martins does a nice job covering the conservation issues facing the state. You can always count on Jim Zech to write an article that is "on the edge" with some good twisted humor.
T.

Darian
12-11-2005, 12:56 PM
Terry's recommendation is a good one. I subscribe myself. It's a good all around magazine. :D :D

However, all of the fishing magazines carry promotional materials for whatever the theme of the publication is. Also, they tend to address eviranmental concerns for their area of interest. For example, SaltWater Fly Fishing carries promo/travel materials for that area of fly fishing and not much else. California Fly Fisher is mainly west coast stuff. 8) 8)

Much of the info in these mag's may not be applicable to where you are or at what stage of development you're at.... 8) So, in reality, I'd recommend that you take some time to read whatever meets your fancy, then pare down the list of likely pubs you'll want. :D :D :D

Gregg
12-11-2005, 03:12 PM