PDA

View Full Version : Smith this winter

Digger
12-11-2005, 08:12 AM
I'm planning on trying the Smith this xmas-new years, as probably many others will. Having never fished it before, I'm wondering if anyone can offer personal opinions/experience about it. Most everything I hear is in and around the Hiouchi Hamlet or Gasquet areas. I've been looking at the Streamtime map and wondering where the better spots are for wading.

Also, if anyone wants to share notes about the south fork, I'd love to hear about it. I understand it's less crowded and more remote access(?)
Thanks.

matt johnson
12-11-2005, 09:48 AM
Hey Digger,

I am not an expert on the Smith, but I have spent about 5 days on it, and have buddies who fish it a lot and love it.

Your best bet at actually catching a fish on the fly is to fish the Middle Fork with indicators and glo-bugs. There are lots of access points, but the really sweet runs are not always obvious. The middle fork runs with amazing speed and power. Just drive up and down the highway until you spot the few pools and tail-outs where it slows down. There will be fish there if the river is fishable.

Same thing on the South Fork, although there are far fewer access points. I recall some decent water around the two bridges within the legal water above the forks. Not many people up there.

I have spent most of my time on the main-stem. The run at Jed-Smith park is beautiful swing water. Tan Oak access has some nice water. Actually, most of the main-stem has nice gravel bars with good swing water. The only problem is dealing with all of the gear boats and plunkers. They hate fly-fishermen. Try to stay below the forks in the morning, and above the forks in the afternoon to avoid the fleet. The plunkers will interrupt your swing and step every time. If a guide boat floats right over your line (this has actually happened to me) just reel up and go indicator fish the Middle Fork. It is a fairly tough crowd up there.