PDA

View Full Version : Lots of Steelhead in the Lower American right now

Bill Kiene semi-retired
12-10-2005, 10:35 PM
I think we are 'missing the boat' here.

I talked with someone today who was talking with a serious convention fisherman who told him he had caught 24 Steelhead above Watt Avenue.

He said they ran from 14" to 9 pounds.

I think we just need to get some serious people out there and really fish that river hard.

This is when the big winter run is coming into the river.

DS18
12-11-2005, 03:04 AM
I am a beginner fly fisherman. I have a 10weight that i got for salmon and stripers in the american. Is a #10 to heavy for steelhead?

DS

jbird
12-11-2005, 10:01 AM
DS

Nothing is too heavy for steelhead. Though you do take the fun out of it with a big stick. My advise is, dont let that detail get in your way of enjoying diving into steelhead flyfishing. Once you get into the sport and learn more about whats what, you can start picking up other gear. Flygear is expensive so just use what youve got until you really know what you need. My advise would be totaly diferent if you asked if a 4wt was adiquate for steelhead. I have had to explain several times to my wife, regarding buying new rods, flyfishing is a bit like golf. You cant realisticaly get around the golf coarse with just a driver, theres a right club for every situation. So is the case with fly fishing.....Then you'll discover the endless horizon of choosing lines for your rods.

Good luck, have fun and welcome to the sport.

Jay

Bill Kiene semi-retired
12-11-2005, 10:04 AM
Hi DS18,

You could use a #6-8 weight outfit for Steelhead in the river if you have one in that size.

A #10 is pretty big but I would not let that stop me.

I would either go after them with the indicator/split shot/nymph/egg system or I would use a sink tip, short 4-6' 2x leader with something black and weighted like a #8 Boss or black woolly bugger or leech or marabou Spey fly/Popsicle.