PDA

View Full Version : New(Used) Boat - need advise/help

BSD
11-06-2005, 07:15 PM
I recently picked up a new for me '82 tri-hull boat that I plan on using in the Delta and San Luis. Today I took it out on the water and found that I couldnt reverse or even neutral. Right after it turns on it starts moving, pretty slow, but still ... Talked to the previous owner and he says he has never been able to get it to neutral. The engine is an 82 mariner 60 hp outboard. Does anyone know if this engine can go neutral and reverse? I'm about to order manuals for the engine and I am thinking the wiring or cables are wrong or something. Any ideas? One more question, do most people have a second battery to dedicate to a trolling motor or is everything run from one battery? Thanks for any help.

Also, if anyone has found some good boating pages I would appreciate the links, I'm new to this. Thanks.

Brian

Gregg Machel
11-06-2005, 09:26 PM
Check the menu above under Links-Boats. Bill has a ton of good boat links there.

Darian
11-06-2005, 10:39 PM
Hey Brian,..... Assuming that your gear selector is near a remote engine switch, it sounds like your engine has a gearing problem. :( The selector may be disfunctional or gears shot. :( :( (I can't believe that the prior owner would've allowed that condition to continue without repair) At any rate, inspection by a qualified mechanic is warranted here. 8) 8)

Your boat should have a dedicated battery for starting your engine, running bilge pumps, running lights, etc.... And another, dedicated battery, for running the trolling motor, depth/fish finder. 8) 8) I would recommend installing an on-board battery charging system. That way you can re-charge after each trip. The convenience is well worth the investment. :D :D :D

BruceB
11-07-2005, 10:06 PM