PDA

View Full Version : October Fly Swap?

Gregg Machel
10-09-2005, 12:05 PM
Is there an October Fly Swap?

Darian
10-09-2005, 12:23 PM
Gregg,.... Check out the Topic, Sierra Stonefly Swap, below..... 8) 8)

Ueyama
10-10-2005, 01:33 AM
I am a very novice and beginning fly tyer. Can you explain how the fly swap works?

Thanks

StevenOjai
10-10-2005, 06:30 AM
Ueyama,
A fly swap is a collection of tiers, usually open to all levels of skill. There is generally a theme as to what type of fly to tie. Enough flies are tied so that each participant recieves one. The flies are sent to the swap host who has the responsibility to divide and send the fly assortment back to each participant. Often, there are discussions within the group as to how certain materials are used etc. It is a really good way for a novice tier to learn how to tie a quality fly since it forces you to tie a number of the same pattern as well as you can. You'll also get to see samples from the other participants and note their style of tying.
I have one tier, Will, who fills a spot in the Stonefly Swap that is open to another, if need be. I'd welcome you to take this spot from Will. Just let me know by today.

Thanks, Steve

Hairstacker
10-10-2005, 09:07 AM
Ueyama, I just want to second what Steve said. On this board, at some point, someone will step forward and volunteer to be the "swap host." The swap host will pick the "theme" of the swap, sometimes after soliciting everyone's opinion, and establish a sign-up period of usually a week. All it takes to sign up is to reply to the thread and say you want to participate. Then it's just a matter of tying up the number of flies required, as Steve said, and sending them in to the swap host by whatever deadline he/she established during sign-ups. Anyone, including yourself, can volunteer to be a swap host.