PDA

View Full Version : OK - Delta Bass

Richard
08-17-2005, 09:09 PM
First thing I know about Delta Bass is that if you want to begin to learn how to fish for them contact Kevin Doran!! Do it soon as he is about to start the striper season and you will have to wait for your bass lessons until Spring.

OK, having said that, among the things I have learmed are the four T's. Tides, Tullies, Transportation and Topwater .

Tides: The area I fish is better at high than low tides. But that may be beause I fish near Bethel Island and at low tide the weeds are so close to the surface that there is no room for the fish. :D I read that slackwater is a dead time, and I have had no experience to prove otherwise. Fishing is much harder when the tide is moving strongly as it makes it difficult to keep the boat where you want it to be. But regardless I go out whenever I can get out and take the tides as I find them.

Tullies: I have more luck fishing around tullies than anywhere else. I cast right up against the tullies and do that noisy retrieve I mentioned before. Even near rock walls I find the tullie areas more productive. The clear space between the walls and the weeds is also good. (But you better have a stong leader and tippet to get the bass past those weeds. :lol:

Transportation: You need a boat - inflatable kayak, canoe, $80,000 bass boat, whatever. Don't try float tubes or such as the jet skis and water skiers will make your life most unpleasant. :roll: Cruise slowly down the area you are fishing and cast and retrieve towards the tullies, bank, boat dock, etc. Don't worry about how to move, if you don't have an anchor out the tide will move you along without any assistance. (Of course it won't take you where you want to go, but that's what paddles and electric motors are for.) :wink: