PDA

View Full Version : Softening Rod ?

Tony Buzolich
08-02-2005, 08:06 PM
Has anyone out there ever felt like their rod got softer as they used it more? No, this is not a dirty joke.

For the last couple of days I've been casting a Sage RPLXi #8 with a Teeny 300 line for stripers. The day starts out fine, the rod and line are in perfect balance and casting is great. But as the day goes on, I find myself casting harder and the rod seems to get softer as I go.

I'll switch over and start using one of my 9w. or 10w. and everything throws like a rocket again.

So,,,? What is it? Am I just loosening up when I start with the 8 weight and building strength as I warm up? Sort of like exercising, you start out slow and warm up.

Or, is it possible that this graphite loosens or softens with a little use?

If this is the case, I'll be trading this Sage in for an Abel or an XTR.
TONY

PaulC
08-02-2005, 08:44 PM
Hey Tony,
I'm not a rod expert but work on composite space structures quite a bit so maybe the same applies.
I have an RPLXi 8 wt. 9' 6" rod I use in the surf with 300 grain and haven't had similar problems.

It also could be:
(A) the repeated cyclic loading of the rod is causing a thermal load, causing the rod to stretch a bit reducing overall stiffness. I would expect this to be minimal however as thermal expansion is usually pretty minimal.

(B) the seating of the rod is shifting under change in environment and/or added heat due to casting. I could see this impacting your cast going hot to cold not vice versa.

(C) Fatigue. Well, you're not overloading your rod and this type of damage is permanent in composites. Cyclic loading at higher stresses causes softening then failure.

What would be interesting to see if it is a rod based and not user based problem is to try hanging a fishing weight off the end of your line and measure the amount of deflection of the rod at the start of the day.