PDA

View Full Version : beginner

cmaday
07-28-2005, 10:53 PM
Hey everybody,
I am new to fly fishing and have gone out on the American a couple times looking for steelhead. No luck, but got my first fish on a fly on the lower yuba the other night and I'm hooked. I have been fishing the american at Goethe park, using some wet flies I got from Bill and Andy at Kiene's. Just wanted to see if maybe I'm in the wrong spot :?:. I've been reading your posts and I figured I could get some good advice here. I appreciate any you may have for me. Thanks in advance.

NorCalFlyGuy
07-29-2005, 08:28 AM
advice for any newbie.....

#1: join a local fly fishing club and find somebody experienced to go with to teach you the ropes....a day on the water with somebody experienced is worth a season of fishing alone

#2 Learning how to read trout water is often more important than what fly to use...buy this book or one like it and read it cover to cover:

http://www.orvis.com/store/product_choice.asp?pf_id=8136&feature_id=&dir_id=758&group_id=8791&cat_id=7892&subcat_id=6024&shop_id=

#3 buy Ralph Cutter's book Sierra Trout Guide....there is tons of useful information, tactics and history about the waters of the Sierra you will be fishing

http://www.flyline.com/sierra_trout_guide/

#4 Always use barbless hooks (bend down the barb before you make the first cast)....countless studies have shown that barbless hooks hold better than barbed hooks because the barb widens the hole as the fish fights which allows the hook to dislodge. Obviously, a barbless hook is also better for the fish and makes it easier to release. It's a win-win situation.