PDA

View Full Version : How long do you wait

JPY
04-19-2005, 10:31 PM
I am relatively new to fly fishing. One of the biggest attraction for me to fly fishing is mobility and trying different things. However, how much time do you usually fish a section before moving on and how many flies do you usually go through on a given trip. I usually fish a section for about 30-40 minutes and try about 4 different flies (nymphing) before I move on (assuming no grabs) to another section of the river. However, I see other fly fisher stay at one spot for a very long time. Should I be more patient?

John

rrivera
04-20-2005, 08:27 AM
Excellent question John....

My answer is based on my personal experiences, and experiences fishing with guides every 3 months - which by the way is the most important learning resource depending on the waters you wish to learn on.

When you talk about fishing a section for 30-40 minutes ( Lets say a 40 yard stretch of a prime riffle ), the main question I have for you is how well are you drifting your nymphs..? I know I've been humbled so many times in my initial learning curb in water that everyone swore there was fish in. Only to find out later that my presentaion skills in indo & high stick nymphing were lacking correct drifts into the runs. Always make sure your leader & line are behind your indicator to avoid drag, mend upstream, and don't have your indicatior move ahead of your nymphs below.

If you don't practice correct presentation = fish may not take nymphs drifting incorrectly.

Make sure to partition your run. Nymph a riffle one lane at a time. Starting near, step in, nymph another lane and so on.