PDA

View Full Version : Keeping Material Organized

Gregg Machel
03-20-2005, 12:27 AM
What are some of the ways all of you keep your fly tying materials organized? I'm in my first year of fly tying and it's already getting out of hand. I've got a couple compartment boxes (the plastic ones), one for hooks, one for flies, and a little 12" X 8" desk organizer that I keep the smaller stuff in. I still find that I have stuff laying all over the place. I do have a big desk, which is shared with my computer, so I think I have ample room for everything. I'd just be curious to know how everyone else organizes their materials.

Bob Scheidt
03-20-2005, 09:11 AM
Hi Gregg,
I have some of those plastic storage drawer-racks that I use. I am sure you have seen them. They come 3 or 4 drawers high and you can stack them on top of each other.
Some of them have shallow drawers. I use some cardboard to divide the shallow drawer and store similiar size threads in each compartment.

Other things to remember--I keep all beads in the original bags and some times put those bags in sandwich bags. I try to keep them airtight to prevent tarnishing over time. Months won't tarnish beads, years will.

I went to the no pest strips for bug protection for my expensive feathers, choice hair and hard to get stuff. I get them at Orchard supply, I think they are called hot shots, no pest strip. No mess and they do the job.

Bob Scheidt

Darian
03-20-2005, 10:43 AM
I'm probably like everyone else, here..... 8) My fly tying area alternatley looks like a bomb dropped on it :roll: :roll: and clean as a pin (not often, tho). Once in a fit of clarity, I bought a piece of furniture (a secretary with drawers) and that is the base camp for my activities, now. Got all kinds of storage boxes for extra stuff, hooks, flies. 8)

I agree with Bob about the use of the pest strips..... I've had a few infestations over the years and kept 'em under control wsith the strips. 8)

Hairstacker
03-20-2005, 12:22 PM