PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions

nathg
03-14-2005, 04:01 PM
I am relatively new to Fly Fishing and have been having some luck and a lot of fun on the Yuba. I live on a foothill lake that supports bass and panfish and have caught them with spinning gear for several years. I have questions as to what type of fly fishing gear I would need for these fish. I have the typical 9ft 5wt set up with floating line. Do I need a lighter pole or different line? Any help would be appreciated

LostInTheFog
03-14-2005, 05:07 PM
You're set with the rig you've got. Go get yourself some poppers and sliders, and chuck those babies into the weeds! Give them little twitchs and gurles as you strip them out, but be certain to occassionally let them sit for a few seconds. Many times your fly will just explode while you're letting it sit. Bass and panfish are a blast on a fly, and foothill lakes should be just starting to get active.

nathg
03-14-2005, 10:04 PM
Thanks LITF. I hope to get on the water within the next few days :D

Hairstacker
03-14-2005, 11:22 PM
Nathg, for what's worth, I'm in total agreement with what LostInTheFog (LITF) just said. Since you've spinfished for them for some time, I presume you know where to target the smallmouths and largemouths. I use a 5/6 wt. rod that carries a weight forward 6 wt. floating (WF6F) line. I've been using the same setup for bluegills.

For smallmouths in lakes, I prefer to fish 2 1/2 - 3-inch chartreuse/white Clouser minnows wherever I can find rocks in the water -- along rock levee walls, submerged boulder fields in the shallows, any place I see large rock slides and points extending into the water, etc. I'll toss the Clouser out there, let it sink a bit, then retrieve it in quick, successive 4 to 6-inch or so jerks to simulate a baitfish. About the only variation I'll make in this retrieve is how long I wait for the drop to control what depth I'm fishing at.