PDA

View Full Version : BASS ???

Rob
03-11-2005, 07:36 PM
When do Large and Small mouth bass start to come into shallow water and feed on the surface?

Its been a while since I have fished for bass with a fly rod.

From what I remember the small mouth came into the shallow water first .

I think it was around April when I started to catch Small Mouth off the points of Folsom Lake.

Thanks
Rob.

[/b]

Hairstacker
03-11-2005, 11:37 PM
Hi Rob! I am no expert on this but I believe the timing varies by location and is highly dependent on water temperature. For example, my log shows that I fished shallow water in the Delta last year on 3/5/04 and found the water temperature was 52 degrees -- absolutely no sign of any largemouths in the shallows. They might have been there but I got 0 hits. However, I fished Turlock Lake last Sunday on 3/6/05 and the water temperature there was 67 degrees -- 15 degrees higher and I managed to catch one largemouth in about 3 feet of water. By the same token, I fished Modesto Reservoir last year on 3/14/04 and the water temperature there was 64 degrees -- I caught a nice smallmouth in about 4 feet of water. Certainly by the time I got to the end of April last year, the Delta water temperature was approaching 70 degrees and the topwater fly fishing for largemouths there in the shallows was very good.

I think you're right, though, that generally speaking, the smallmouths show up a little earlier than the largemouths. But as you can see, water temperatures can vary significantly by location and I believe this is a factor. And I believe March is a good time to start prospecting the shallows of valley lakes, especially for smallmouths. I like to see water temperature over 60 degrees, 65 or higher even better. David Lee and I will be conducting further research (someone has to do it) this Sunday, 3/13/05.